Power BI Report and Dashboard sharing

Overview

There are many ways of sharing Reports and dashboards. You can add users to an app workspace. You can share dashboards. You can create apps. But what is the most appropriate way to deal with specific situations?

Share a Dashboard

In Power BI Service, go to the Dashboard that needs sharing and click Share dashboard at the top right of the screen.

 Here you can share to users within your organization as well as outside your organization. You can also decide if that person can also share the dashboard (Anyone you share the dashboard with will need Power BI Pro to view the dashboard)

If the dashboard is Shared, the underlying reports are shared also.

The recipient will get an email to tell them. Power BI adds the dashboard or report to their Shared with me List page.

Share a Dashboard

You can also do the same when sharing a report. There is a Share button at Report level

When recipients outside your organization click the link on the email for both dashboards or reports, they do not get the usual dashboard portal. They see the contents in its own browser window. Not the Power BI Portal. They then have to bookmark the link for future access.

Checking who has access to the Dashboard/Report

Simply click on Access to get this information.

People outside your organization are listed as guests

You can click on … to amend their access, like stopping them from resharing or revoking their access rights to the report / dashboard

Adding to the App Workspace

What is an app workspace?

The old workspace created an office 365 group for every workspace but that created a lot of office 365 groups. You could only add individuals to the workspace. You couldn’t add security groups. All members could either be Edit or Read only.

App Workspaces are still in Preview (As at Nov 18) and when you go to Create new app workspace there is a yellow bar saying Try Now for New Improved workspaces.  They work the same as the old workspace but adding users is different. Individuals, Mail enabled security groups, Office 365 groups can be added.

Each individual gets options for access privileges rather than everyone in the group having the same.

Apps can be published to the App workspace (1 app per app workspace) and replace content packs

Apps are 1 to 1 relationships with workspaces. You can share many different reports and dashboards at one time from the workspace, this is also well used and will be looked at in another how to guide

Old workspaces are going to be obsolete at some point in the future so its worth moving everything to the new App workspaces now.

Admin Can change and delete workspaces Can add other admins Everything a member can do
Member Reshare Publish and Update Apps Everything a contributor can do
Contributor Add/edit/delete content within the workspace Everything a viewer can do
Viewer View Content within the workspace Replaces read only workspaces

Adding new Members to old Workspaces

In the Workspace, Click on … And Choose Members

This takes you into Office 365 where you can  see all the members of the App workspace and invite other people to the group

New Workspace App Set up

This is now out of Preview.  If you were setting up the old way (By reverting to classic) you could start by adding individuals here. Once set up you could add uses as above (Adding new Members to old Workspaces)

Note that here you can Upload an image for the workspace. Add a name and description but users can’t be added here.

Instead of being taken into 365 you see the Welcome to screen.

For this example, go back to Desktop and Publish Report(s) to the new workspace. Re-click on the new Workspace and you can now see the following

New Workspaces preview lets you know you are in a Workspace App rather than a Workspace

To add users you can click on   Access  at the top of the screen.

Or click on Workspace Access by going to the workspace within Workspaces and clicking

You can now add individuals, Office 365 groups or Mail Enabled security Groups (Rather than just individuals)

Please remember, If the user is outside your organization, Share the dashboard via the app. Don’t add them to the App workspace

Share or add?

The different ways (above) are designed to give you flexibility.

In general, users should only be directly added to the workspace if they are report authors. End users who are just consuming reports should have them shared so that they show up in the “Shared with Me” section, or as an App.

When you share a dashboard, user can only view the dashboard and related report(you can also let them re-share the dashboard),

When you add users to an app workspace(or new app workspace), you can give them permissions to edit the report so that they can work with you.

Update the App.

You can work on reports in the App Workspace with other members of your team.

Then when you are happy and want to show to Users you can go back to the Workspace and Update App

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: